Taking On Vegas

UP_SANDS_NIGHT_940_599 by Tyler Hobbs

Each Wednesday, I examine the spreads for the games being played the upcoming weekend, and pick the underdogs and favorites are most likely to cover. (Editor’s Note: 4FanSports in no way endorses gambling, because that would be irresponsible.)

   The road to Super Bowl whatever number it is has now begun. And what better way to celebrate the coming of the most televised event every year than to do it 4FanSports style. That is right ladies and gentleman, Taking on Vegas is back after a two week hiatus in order to breakdown the 1st round matchups of this year’s NFL playoffs. Keep in mind, I don’t have the courtesy of picking the games that look “good”, instead I will be picking every single game and hopefully don’t do too terrible. As the Bud Light commercials suggest, “Here We Go.”

First up is the Cincinnati Bengals taking on the Houston Texans this Saturday. The Houston Texans were considered by many to be one of the best teams in the NFL all year, but after hitting a rough patch in the last few weeks of the season, they found themselves in the 1st round rather than earning that coveted bye. This matchup introduces two teams that have a history of underperforming in the playoffs, but the good news is that one of them has to win. I like the Texans at (-4 ½), because I don’t see the Bengals defense being able to stop the explosive Texans offense.

Next on Saturday is the team I picked to lose to Peyton Manning in the Super Bowl, the Green Bay Packers taking on the Minnesota Vikings for the 2nd time this week. Sunday, the Vikings defeated the Packers on a last second field goal to lock up their spot in the playoffs. However, the Vikings were playing for Adrian Peterson’s record, and I don’t see history repeating itself. The Packers are favored by (-9), and that is a heavy spread for the playoffs, but I am fully confident in the discount double check. I foresee the Vikings getting down early to the high-powered offense led by Randall Cobb (okay, okay and others), then trying to keep up behind the arm of Christian Ponder, but to no avail. Packers cruise to the 2nd round of the playoffs.

Lets keep it rolling, with one of the storybook teams of the year, the Indianapolis Colts who will meet the Baltimore Ravens. I am fully aboard the Andrew Luck bandwagon and fully believe the future of the NFL rests on his long tenured career. The Colts have been the feel-good story of the year, and they will be playing for more than keeping their Super Bowl hopes alive come Sunday. But the Ravens also have a chip on their shoulder to be playing for, the recent announcement of Ray Lewis’ retirement at year’s end will have the Ravens game ready come Sunday. The Ravens are a (-6 ½) point favorite against the Colts, but if you listened to the podcast (and why wouldn’t you have?) you know that I picked the Colts to pull the upset. I am standing by the Colts, and regardless, even if they do lose, I still think it will be the closest game this weekend. Colts keep it close and cover the (+6 ½) points they are generously given, and quite possibly end the career of one of the greatest linebackers of all time.

The Seahawks and Redskins finish up the 1st round of the NFL playoffs in the smallest spread of the weekend. The Redskins defeated my Dallas Cowboys to earn the NFC East title, and I am still pretty pissed about it, so damn the Redskins and RG3, Alfred Morris, Mike Shanahan, Joe Gibbs, and their entire fanbase. As my payback for that deceitful loss, I am picking against the Redskins, and taking the Seahawks (-3) on the shoulders of small Russell Wilson. I know that the Redskins will be carrying a heavy burden going into the game knowing that they didn’t earn my pick in “Taking on Vegas” and to that I say bring it on. But in reality, I just really think that RG3’s injury is more serious than the Redskins are leading on, and Alfred Morris will not be able to run all over the Seahawks like he did against the Cowboys. Seahawks win, but the Redskins will still get all the publicity. Also, the RG3 is apparently not black enough for ESPN’s Rob Parker, still one of the dumbest comments I have ever heard on television. Though that may not be relevant, I really just wanted to bash Rob Parker for saying something so stupid, and ruining any credibility he may have had.

And there you have it, folks. Make sure to tune in next week to break down the 2nd round playoffs, and hopefully all the teams that I picked will have won, otherwise I will also have even less credibility than I do now, much like that moron Rob Parker. Until next week, enjoy the NFL playoffs and the remaining bowl games.

Leave a Reply

